en per padum paadu

I remember years back there was a famous blog post with the same title and it was blogged by a person named Kalaivani (kalai in short). I still remember in the year 2005, I got it as a forward and not to deny it was helping us to laugh like anything due to its beautiful narration of the situations.

Here i do post this with my siutations. Well, those of you who are not aware of my name in full, it goes as ‘M Raghavan alias Saravanan’, and i do prefer to have it in full in most of the places and wherever possible!🙂 May be because of the self-love one can argue!

It so happens many times that i am asked for an explanation of the term ‘alias’ and why i have two names? Not to miss the interview parts i have attended so far. Luckily if it gets missed out during the initial phases of technical interview, it is for sure to mark its presence in the HR interviews. I would ask them with a small question, “there is a small story behind it. would you like to hear?”. Well, most probably the answers were of type ‘Yes’, ‘Sure’, ‘Go ahead’🙂

Very recently, i faced the same with the conversation with a new blogger friend Meenu on her post and so am i here with this post! As per her request, i am mostly writing it in english and wherever appropriate using the translation for the tamil slang!

Story behind my Father’s name

To start off with, the first name or name before the ‘alias’ is my dad’s name as well my grandpa’s.
Well, my dad also has a story for his name. My dad’s name was R. Muthu karuppan since my grandfather’s name being ‘SP Raghavan’. My dad felt a bit shy and/or reluctant for keeping the second part ‘karuppan‘ as it would be a catchy term for the fellow buddies to tease him with the meaning it gives as ‘blacky or black in colour‘ in tamil.

Hence he did remove that ‘karuppan’ out of his name and kept his name as his initial expanded. And his name got transformed from ‘R. Muthu‘ to ‘Raghavan Muthu’. Infact he did this all with the Gazette Notification.

I do remember during my schooling (nursery and i was in Standard V), there was a small argument between our school correspondent and my father for this naming clash and my initial should have been ‘R’ instead of ‘M’. My dad had to send the xerox copy of the gazette for the proof even after explaining those stuff. Obviously that’s the first time I also happened to know all these.

My Naming conventions so far..

Coming to the main track, i was given the so called name ‘Raghavan‘ for the naming to be continued across generations. But again in Tamil culture, women should not call the people by name which happens to match with either of her husband’s or father-in-law’s as it is treated as lack of respect. For that sake, i was given the another name ‘Saravanan’. As my dad felt like keeping those two names in the official records/certificates and they got it registered as such. Just to accommodate both the names, there came a conjunction ‘alias’. That’s when the name has been in existence.

Now coming to the other short/sweet/pet names i do have. Well the list goes like this.

As narrated above, i am called as ‘Saravana‘ by relatives and neighbors. I am specially called as ‘Saro’ by my family members which of course was originated from my beloved mom!🙂

During schooling till class V, i was called as ‘Saravana’ as most of my teachers were my mom’s students and they got used to the same name.

After class 6th, i was called by ‘Raghavan‘. One small incident to share here is, after the initial few days in class 6th of a new school, one of my classmates came to our house on a holiday just for a pastime and when he enquired about me in lathe which is exactly in front my house, he was told that there was no one by the name ‘Raghavan’ and he had to simply return.🙂 The next day, i had to explain him as well the neighbors of the other name i do have! lol.😛

Only one person called me ever as ‘Ravagan‘ [donno where he got that term] and few people just used to call me as ‘Ravanan‘ — just to tease me.

During my engineering, my name has got several forms. Some seniors and friends called me as ‘Raghav‘ which made me feel good at that time till when i came across the term ‘Raghs‘ during my 3rd Year. This term ‘Raghs’ – which of course stays till to date of my preference, has got its own variations. Few people use it as ‘Rags‘ while some others use as ‘Ragz‘.

Very few people use ‘Raghava‘ that sounded like either they are annoyed or over affectionate.

Few friends called me as ‘Raghavs‘ and some continue to do so🙂.

One of my best buddies who used to call me as ‘Raghs’ for long, she used the term ‘Raga‘ — donno what made her spell that way.

I exactly don’t remember the scenario but one or two called me as ‘Raghavendran’🙂

Some of the selected lecturers used to address me as ‘Saravanan‘ – which brings a nostalgia of childhood schooling memories and i just enjoy the feelings within!

A peculiar set of people called me with the unused conjunction ‘alias‘ and that was also welcomed till now🙂

Few of my college mates and friends call me as ‘Raghavachari‘ as i feel they felt good that way to call me!

Once I went to St Johns Hospital, Bangalore for the corn excision on my leg in Feb 2006, i was called as ‘Raghavan Pillai‘ by one of the sisters over there! mmm. yet another!🙂. I really din’t dig my small brain for the sources causing the name.🙂. [Thanks to my beloved colleague,friend,guide Rajasekar M for reminding this one after reading the blog post:p]

What’s a big deal.. a name is given to call you right. The purpose is getting saved!

Out of all these, i somehow prefer nowadays being called with the name ‘Raghs‘ and thats what in use everywhere including this address of this blog!


Some difficulties I face officially

Though having been identified uniquely in all academic environments, i used to face a tough time when filling up the application forms, where in i had to draw few more boxes to write my so called ‘name-in-full’ and it usually attracts a smile from the neighbors and/or the concerned official.

Names in the professional environment

During my employment with Covansys (of course my first employer), the naming convention for the emalil id was the first letter of your initial followed by your first name. And my email id was ‘RMuthu’ (as explained above). Though i had an option to have the email id as ‘MRaghavan‘ by reversing, i dint want to do since i had huge number of email ids on my own name itself, i thought of giving a credit to my dad🙂

But the display name was ‘MUTHU Raghavan alias Saravanan‘.🙂 Most of my team members (it was a huge team having 70+ members) started calling me as ‘Muthu‘. Initially i was correcting them by saying its not mine but my father’s name. But no one seemed to agree and they justified saying that it was short compared to Raghavan. What a super analogy and analysis? Just a difference in few characters/letters. Huh! I was practiced to listen to the name ‘Muthu’ thereafter and it continued for 2 years literally. Even now some of my ex-colleagues call me as ‘Muthu’ only!🙂 Enna kodumai sir idhu?

Another important aspect was with the US clients. Initially they used to ask me in email as how to spell my name and what name they can make use for the sake of their convenience!. Some of them used to address me as ‘Muttu‘ (sounds like ‘Mute-u‘) in the conference call with which people around me have a good fun !

Now, my name has been registered in my present company as ‘Raghavan alias Saravanan Muthu‘ – just a reverse of place holders. Some of my present colleagues call me as

#1. ‘Raghavan alias Saravana Muthu‘ — [note the absence of ‘n’ here :)]

#2. ‘Raghavan engira Saravana Muthu‘ — of course thats how the term ‘alias’ gets translated in tamil!

#3. ‘Raghavan alias Saravanan alias Muthu‘ — beautiful!

What to do? Getting used to it!

After all, its a part of your name and its like a metadata!

Names in the Onsite (Bahrain)

I guess it was somehow missed though i thought of posting it months back. And now its the time to include that as well.

After coming to Bahrain for an onsite assignment i am given some more new names by some of my colleagues here. They are from TCS. Those names go as below.

#1. Raghavan s/o Raghavan s/o Raghavan — maintaining the full hierarchy from bottom to top!🙂. Software engineers they are, you know!

#2. Veettula Saravanan veliyila Raghavan — meaning ‘in the home Saravanan but outside Raghavan’

#3. Raghwan — that’s how the employees of our client (LMRA) call me. They mainly follow Arabiq here. It can be taken as ‘Raghwan’, ‘Raghghvaan‘ as it varies from time to time and depends on their mood🙂

Name in the Passport

Well! It goes for a task man. I don’t know why it went like that. And no wonder, the ‘government employees’ are prone to do that i suppose. In my passport, my name is entered as ‘Raghavan ALSOKNOWNAS Saravanan’. All what i could do was to yell at my dad and he politely did the same back to me justifying that he got an answer from the officers that its their way of mentioning alias names! ouch..

Was very much concerned of it as was advised by some of my senior colleagues that it might invite some troubles during the visa interview especially for USA. Till now, i have not faced any issues and i hope the same in future as well.

Hope this answers the question in detail with few extra information and somehow it was interesting!

Donno how many other names are there in store for future?😛.

FBOK — Fellow Buddies only know🙂

How is the new layout? Just thought of changing it and I did it today.

Let me know your thoughts on the same🙂

Cheers!

25 comments so far

  1. Thayz on

    Raghs…
    Kalikkta poooo….
    Onnum solrathukkilla……pooo
    Unnoda perukku pinnadi ivvalavu periya kahtai aa? oh god…

  2. Visweswaran on

    Raghavan!

    Super and it was nice to read!

  3. PgL alias MuthuPonmozhi on

    Very interesting, Ragz! but in the automated generated section of this page shows some related categories as mokkai,thambattam,experience,personal:) donno why🙂
    Joke apart, really well written.

  4. rajesh on

    Hi ‘M Raghavan alias Saravanan’

    Well in your onsite section you forgot to mention three more things

    Please do include that…🙂

  5. Viji on

    Ithu than sollurathu enna mathiri name irrukanumnu.. No can make it short.

    Ur Name history was too guud.. Had great fun reading it da.. :)))

  6. Prakash on

    What a man!!!

  7. raghs on

    @Thays,

    Welcome here da🙂 thanks da nanbda.

    //Unnoda perukku pinnadi ivvalavu periya kahtai aa? oh god…//

    yes da.. enna pandrathu? its the time to reveal.. so did it!😛

  8. raghs on

    @Visweswaran,

    //Super and it was nice to read!//

    Thank you Vish. Long time no C:)

  9. raghs on

    @PgL alias MuthuPonmozhi,

    one more alias?😛 u too brutus? lol🙂

    //Very interesting, Ragz!//

    Thanks Ponmozhi.

    // but in the automated generated section of this page shows some related categories as mokkai,thambattam,experience,personal🙂 donno why :-)//

    Its not a spam and these are the categories under which i have labelled this post !🙂

    //Joke apart, really well written.//

    Glad about it🙂

  10. raghs on

    @Rajesh,

    Welcome thalaiva🙂

    //Well in your onsite section you forgot to mention three more things//

    ha haha. those are all the NICK names what you guys gave and i don’t think they deserve to be included here :))

    Thanks for dropping by!

  11. raghs on

    @viji,

    //Ithu than sollurathu enna mathiri name irrukanumnu.. No can make it short.//

    haa ha.. true. but i remember some1 else use their own name as ‘vg’!🙂 whos that? lol😛

    //Ur Name history was too guud.. Had great fun reading it da.. :)))//

    Thank you viji!:) thanks for dropping by!

  12. raghs on

    @prakash,

    Welcome here da🙂

    //What a man!!!//

    what this? padaiyappa pada dialogue maadhri irukku? enna vechu comedy kemedy pananlaiyea?😛

    thanks for dropping by!

  13. pria on

    Good you have something to call huh:)

  14. Jeevan on

    ‘Ravanan‘ haha… hum… if your grandfather is alive sure he would be worried about his name used improperly and for easy convenience. Just kidding that’s all;)

    My name is Jeevan Kuman, so I shorten it as jeevan. In blog buddies shorten it more to jeeva, jeev, jeevz.

  15. Adarsh Ramamurthy on

    Good one maga!! Give a link to this blog in the FAQ section of every website/blog you create so that people stop asking you the same question again and again🙂

    Besides, it’s often advantageous to have a unique name. A person’s name is his identity and how nice would it be if this identity is unique? Right? For instance, I can just google up ” Raghavan alias Saravanan” and get to know everything about all your online activities🙂

    I too used to enjoy this luxury until very recently (I still do, in fact) until one day a person with the same forename-surname combination as mine started showing up in the internet world!😦

  16. meenu on

    ROFL!!!!
    1st let me say you have narrated it very beautifully. Unga Per Padam PEriya Paadu than: D
    He he …
    The template is superb … and yes its great that u have added more beauty just with your funny , cute narration.
    Thank god you are not born as a Sindhi girl: D cos during marriages the names are changed 4 the girls, ie the girl goes anew to her in-laws place ….
    So I guess Ragz/Raghs is good enough …
    Thanks a million 4 taking so much time off and patiently write and explain in detail the “Story behind your name” ……

    I was really controlling my laughter – actually was reading it secretly in office ..:)It s really good that “oru perula evalavu solla mudyuma !:)
    Good take care and keep rocking !

  17. Vinod Chandramouli on

    Raghavan ALSOKNOWNAS Saravanan

    Alright, that did the job. You must be kidding me…You have your name printed like that on your passport…??man those immigration officer is going to have a problem pronouncing your name…

    no wonder your blog’s name is blogsofraghs and not blogsofraghavanalsoknownassaravanan…

    jokes apart…very nice post…🙂

    vc

  18. raghs on

    @pria,

    //Good you have something to call huh//

    Not just one thing.. many things🙂 and thats what this post is for! Thank you pria!

  19. raghs on

    @Jeevan,

    //‘Ravanan‘ haha… hum… if your grandfather is alive sure he would be worried about his name used improperly //

    hahaa.. for sure he is definitely alive but he is not updated with these naming conventions🙂 lol..

    out of all your short names, jeevz sounds nice🙂

  20. raghs on

    @Adarsh Ramamurthy,

    //Give a link to this blog in the FAQ section of every website/blog you create//

    Thanks maga🙂 That’s a nice suggestion and of course it has the ‘reusability’. Is nt it? lol.

    You are right about the uniqueness and about googling on the name, well said maga!🙂

    //I too used to enjoy this luxury until very recently //

    Who is the black sheep? any further info?😛

  21. raghs on

    @Meenu,

    //ROFL!!!!
    1st let me say you have narrated it very beautifully. Unga Per Padam PEriya Paadu than: D//

    Welcome here. Thank you so much. I am glad you liked it and i believe i kept my words🙂

    //The template is superb … and yes its great that u have added more beauty just with your funny , cute narration.//

    Thanks for the comment and you are the one who answered for this question till now. A special gift i can give you🙂

  22. raghs on

    @Meenu,

    //Thank god you are not born as a Sindhi girl: D cos during marriages the names are changed 4 the girls, ie the girl goes anew to her in-laws place ….//

    I have not heard of this and thanks for letting me know!

    //I was really controlling my laughter – actually was reading it secretly in office ..:)It s really good that “oru perula evalavu solla mudyuma ! :)//

    My pleasure and i am indeed happy. You made my day!🙂

  23. raghs on

    @Vinod chandramouli,

    Welcome here buddy!

    //You have your name printed like that on your passport…??//

    Yes, of course🙂. Thats what i have told above.

    //man those immigration officer is going to have a problem pronouncing your name//

    ha haha. till now i have not heard of some1 pronouncing this version of my name!! let me wait and c!🙂

    //no wonder your blog’s name is blogsofraghs and not blogsofraghavanalsoknownassaravanan…//

    you made me laugh than my post did to you!:)

    Thanks for dropping by vinod!!

  24. Techeek on

    Oi Super appu!!!

  25. raghs on

    @Techeek,

    Welcome here. Thank you for the comments🙂. Sorry for the delayed reply!


Leave a Reply

