Opinions on Best Ebook Reader

Hi Friends,

It was a mail thread I had for asking the opinion on the best Ebook reader, among my friends. As usual with my own style, I am collecting all the replies and posting it here so it will be useful to all!

Here you go…

Question :

Hi Friends,

Are you using any Ebook Readers? If so which one do you use and what is the best factor your feel out of your ebook reader? I am thinking to buy one and I thought I can get your opinion on the same.

If I google out, there are so many and I am slightly confused on which one to choose.

What are the parameters one should look at before buying a device?

Which one do you think stands at its best these days? I know this is very subjective and depends on various factors.

Kindly share your views.

Thanks in advance.

Answers:

Sowmya says :

I got a Kindle just the WiFi version… I think it is very good and serves my purpose. The cost has also come down. I really love it. If you are keen on reading colourful magazines then nook is fine. Kindle has the e-ink technology that has less strain to the eye. So my suggestion go for kindle. But irrespective of opinions do an extensive research and find out what you need the most (between kindle and nook)🙂

Upon asking about the price of Nook,

I got it from amazon for $139.

Nook is a product of Barnes and Noble… the book sellers.

Vivek Juneja says :

Hey Raghs,

I currently use the Kindle from Amazon. The 3rd generation one is pretty amazing device. Awesome battery life, great to read on for long hours, WiFi, 3G options. Plus bonus : Text to Speech (natural speech), Webkit Browser, MP3 / Music / Audio books player, On board QWERTY keyboard.

I am using this for last 3 months, and pretty happy with it. The form factor is easy to carry. I am pretty amazed by the battery life ( around a month of decent usage).

So my best bet for you would be a Kindle. Currently its a B & W with 16 shades of gray. Color is missing, but it really does not count if you are not reading colored books. It supports quite a good number of file formats including PDF, Word, MOBI, EPUB etc. PDF rendering is neat, but I support converting the PDF into the native format for all the benefits.

Overall a nice device. Ring me if you want more details.

Arunkumar K says :

best one is the kindle as it is the best for the eyes.. ipads and sony readers arent as good..

battery life is awesome as well and it is also reasonable pricewise!!

Anupama Biswas says :

i have a kindle too and its good🙂 No complains so far🙂

KrishnaKumar says :

You sure want just ebook reader? And seriously, noone to recommend Adam? Of course, it cannt compete with Kindle as an ebook reader, but it should do the job pretty well and much much more than Kindle in other regards. Just for the heck of it, I would wait till Adam goes to full fledged production. It has been disappointingly delayed already. It does have eInk display (along with other options). It should cost a little more than Kindle, but its worth it.

http://www.notionink.com

Ramya Anandan says :

Raghav,

I agree with below comments about Amazon kindle, go for it.

Jeevan Kumar says :

I never used a Ebook Reader so no idea which one is best in category.

Sriram Kailasanathan says :

Raghava,

I would suggest you a high end android mobile where you can install kindle software for free, with which you can double your mobile as a reader also and dont have the worries to carry 2 devices.

I hold a HTC desire, and installed the kindle on that, works fine for me

Rekha Balasubramaniam says :

Raghavan,I heard about Amazon e-book reader kindle but not sure how far it is worthwhile buying J

Ramesh VG says :

If just a Ebook then go for Amazon Kindle, but if u want more than a reader but a tablet, wait for few more month, where new tablets are coming to market.

Thank you all🙂

 


 



 


 


 


 


 

2 comments so far

  1. seo4joke on

    You have to try this thing.
    This is the good e-book for this time.
    http://www.thingsforsales.com/Kindle-3G-Wireless

  2. raghs on

    @seo4joke,

    Thanks for the link. I will check it out.


Leave a Reply

